Blog Details

IPL 2023: Kolkata Knight Riders Vs Punjab Kings, 53rd Match of IPL

07 May 2023 08:37 PM cricketclues

Kolkata Vs Punjab, Can we witness Russell show or Punjab heavy batting will turn the game?, Pitch Report, Playing 11

The 53rd Match of the Indian Premier League(IPL) 2023, will be played between Kolkata Knight Riders and Punjab Kings at Eden Gardens, Kolkata on 8th May. Kolkata Knight Riders in the previous match won the match which they thought they would have lost but credit goes to their feilding and their Bowlers as on batting first scored 171 runs, Nitish Rana and Rinku Singh contributed good and in bowling Vaibhav Arora and Shardul Thakur picked up 2 wickets but in last over the hero was Varun Chakravarthy who picked up 1 wicket and conceded just 20 runs in his 4 over spell. On the other hand Punjab Kings even after scoring 214 runs lost the match. In Batting Liam Livingstone 82 runs in just 42 balls and Jitesh Sharma 49 runs helped Punjab Kings to register good score but in bowling Rishi Dhawan Bowled superb in the powerplay and also got the wicket of Rohit Sharma and Nathan Ellis has been good for them this season but other bowlers went for runs as Punjab Kings lost the match. If Kolkata Knight Riders win here the table will be wide open and if they lose from here on they will be out of IPL 2023 as for them every match is a must win. Punjab Kings need to trust their players as in every match even after winning a match they are making continuous changes.


Kolkata Knight Riders Vs Punjab Kings:

Date: 8th May 2023, Monday 

Time: 07:30 PM (IST)

Venue: Eden Gardens, Kolkata.

Capacity: 63,000

Live Streaming Platform: Star Sports and Jio Cinema (for online streaming).


Eden Gardens so far is good for the fast bowlers and for Batsmen they can trust the pace and bounce of the pitch. Captain winning the toss will opt to bowl first and it will be a high scoring match.



Nitish Rana(C), Jason Roy, Rahmanullah Gurbaz(wk), Venkatesh Iyer, Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Shardul Thakur, Sunil Narine, Harshit Rana, Vaibhav Arora, Varun Chakravarthy. 


Shikhar Dhawan(C), Prabhsimran Singh, Matthew Short, Liam Livingstone, Jitesh Sharma(wk), Shahrukh Khan, Sam Curran, Rishi Dhawan, Rahul Chahar, Arshdeep Singh, Kagiso Rabada.


Total Matches Played: 31

Kolkata Knight Riders: 20

Punjab Kings: 11

Abandoned: 0

No Result : 0