Blog Details

IPL 2022: KKR vs LSG, Super Giants wins by close call.

The Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) advanced to the TATA Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 playoffs after defeating the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) by two runs on Wednesday at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai.

DY Patil Stadium hosts a high-scoring battle! Quinton de Kock's magnificent 140* effort and his record undefeated opening stand of 210 with captain KL Rahul enabled LSG win by two runs in a high-scoring spectacle. KKR lost Venkatesh Iyer in the opening over of the chase, delivered by Mohsin Khan after Quinton de Kock grabbed a brilliant diving catch behind the stumps. KKR then lost newcomer Abhijeet Tomar after the correct batter was captured inside the circle by captain KL Rahul. With a superb counter-attacking fifty combination, Nitish Rana and Shreyas Iyer powered KKR's rescue. Rana chose the offensive path, smashing nine fours inside the powerplay, and KKR were 60/2 after six overs. After Rana holed out in the deep, K Gowtham put a stop to the deadly pairing. Sam Billings replaced skipper Shreyas Iyer and was quickly on the move, scoring two fours and a six, and KKR were 99/3 at the midway mark.  The fifty-fifty partnership was up for grabs for the couple, and KKR appeared to be in command of the chase. In the 13th over, Mohsin Khan gave up only two runs. Both Quinton de Kock and skipper KL Rahul hit their respective half-centuries, and the LSG openers, who were indulging in boundaries, continued to score at a furious clip.