Blog Details

IPL 2023: Punjab Kings Vs Kolkata Knight Riders, 2nd match of ipl

01 Apr 2023 12:07 AM cricketclues

Nitish Rana to lead Kolkata Knight Riders

The 2nd Match of the Indian Premier League(IPL) 2023, will be played between Punjab Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders at Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali on 1st April. Both the teams will Play their first match of the IPL 2023 and both teams will be led by their new Captain's Shikhar Dhawan for Punjab Kings and Nitish Rana will lead Kolkata Knight Riders in the absence of Shreyas Iyer who is injured. For both the teams they have a challenge in front of them, like what team combination to play with as both are new captains for their respective teams. If we talk about Punjab Kings they have some of the key players in the form of Liam Livingstone, Arshdeep Singh, Sam Curran, IPL most expensive player it will be interesting to see can he justify his value and Kagiso Rabada who will be missing the first few matches for Punjab Kings. For Kolkata Knight Riders they have good overseas players in the form of Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Shakib Al Hasan and Lockie Ferguson. With the impact player rule teams can use their bench strength and according to the match situation and conditions can take advantage, which will result in more interesting Matches in this season.


Punjab Kings Vs Kolkata Knight Riders :

Date: 1st April 2023, Saturday 

Time: 03:30 PM (IST)

Venue: Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali.

Capacity: 30,000

Live Streaming Platform: Star Sports and Jio Cinema (for online streaming).


The Mohali pitch has a flat surface and the outfield is also very fast which results in High scoring encounters. At the Start we can expect an average score between 170 - 200 runs. Teams will be looking to bowl first and later on chase the target.



Shikhar Dhawan(C), Prabhsimran Singh, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Liam Livingstone, Shahrukh Khan, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Sam Curran, Harpreet Brar, Rahul Chahar, Arshdeep Singh, Nathan Ellis.


Nitish Rana(C), Venkatesh Iyer, N Jagadeesan(wk), Shakib Al Hasan, Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Shardul Thakur, Sunil Narine, Lockie Ferguson, Umesh Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy.


Total Matches Played: 30

Punjab Kings: 10

Kolkata Knight Riders: 20

Abandoned: 0

No Result : 0